Daily Archives: July 6, 2010

Should You Run with a Cold?

I think I may have come down with a head cold. Not exactly sure how, but last night I started to feel a sore throat coming on, and this morning I woke up with a stuffy nose. Not fun, my friends. Especially when I have my first long distance race on Sunday.

This morning I drank lots of water, took a mulitvitamin and some vitamin C, and made a chocolate strawberry protein smoothie in a mug.

Ingredients in the smoothie: 1/2 cup of almond breeze, 1/2 scoop of chocolate rice protein, 1/2 tsp of maca powder and a handful of frozen strawberries. It still tasted a bit gritty from the rice protein, but I’m slowly getting used to it.

I also had a slice of toast with maple peanut butter, a sprinkle of chia seeds and 1/2 of a banana.

I tried staying hydrated all day, and I also drank some iced honest green tea, and made myself some iced honey lemon tea throughout the day, hoping it would help cure my cold!

Lunch wasn’t too interesting, a Morning Star Farms Chick’n Patty with reduced fat cheese on a sandwich thin with a side of strawberries.

I also had an apple, and a chocolate zucchini cupcake for dessert!

These are seriously to die for, they are so chocolately and delicious!

Anyway, I came home and still felt like crap, so I made my ultimate comfort food for dinner: pancakes! These pancakes contained 1 cup of ready made pancake mix, 1 tbsp of flaxmeal,  1 tbsps of wheat bran, and water. I also threw in a few blackberries and some chopped walnuts. I add the flax and wheat bran to healthify the pancakes!

I topped them with some blueberry sauce. Delish!

After dinner I was in the mood for something cold, like ice cream, so I finally decided to try the non-dairy dessert I got at the HWFC the other day! I got chocolate!

from google image search

This was way better than the mint flavor I tried a while ago. So good!

So, tonight I was debating on whether or not to run the three miles that my training plan calls for this week. I wasn’t feeling to0 hot when I got home, and I took about an hour nap and didn’t feel much better. I decided to nix the run and do some Namaste Yoga instead. It felt great. 🙂 But for some reason I’m still feeling guilty about not running tonight, even though I know my body needs the rest.

I did some research on the topic, and found this article. Runner’s World says that running with the common cold won’t necessarily harm your health, but you should take about 3 days off of running if you want to increase your changes of getting better. I think two rest days should help me, since I plan on running tomorrow at some point. I need to be feeling 100% better for the Boilermaker on Sunday. 🙂

To those who run, do you run when you are sick or have a cold, or do you take some time off?

3 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Food, Yoga