Indian Ladder Farms Food Festival

Happy Fathers day to my dad and all the other dads out there. I hope you all had a nice day! Mine was pretty low key.

I started the day out nice. My mom and I decided to head to the Indian Ladder Farms local food festival. We went pretty early to see what they had. There weren’t too many vendors there, which I was kind of disappointed about. But they did have animals!

Kitties for adoption!

A donkey named Eeyore.

And bunnies!

So cute!

Out of all the vendors my mom and I only got a couple of things: some vegetable and roasted red pepper bruchetta, more maple peanut butter, and raspberry creamed honey, all of which were made locally! 🙂 I can’t wait to try the vegetble bruchetta on top of some pasta. Yum!

After the fest, I came home and hung out with my dad, and gave him his father’s day presents. He was pretty happy! My sister and I got him some t-shirts and a gift card to Lowes.

I had to fit in running somewhere, so around 12:30 I ran five miles in 53 minutes on the treadmill, since it was a little too humid to run outside today. The treadmill was brutal. I felt fine, but I was just bored out of my mind! After my run, I snacked on some new greek yogurt. The grocery store didn’t have Chobani, so I grabbed a Brown Cow to try.


And it was delish! It was just as good as Chobani, actually. I added some raw oatmeal to the cup to give it some texture, and that was really satisfying. I also had a slice of double fiber whole grain bread with some dark chocolate dreams peanut butter. That was my “lunch”, since my parents were planning on grilling an early dinner.

My mom got gourmet hamburgers for dinner, but she also had some salmon burgers in the freezer, which I’ve been dying to try. I had a salmon burger on a sandwich thin topped with some peach mango salsa. I wasn’t sure how the salsa would taste with salmon, but it was actually REALLY good. I also had some whole grain tortilla chips and salsa on the side.

I was really pleased that the salmon burgers were only 100 calories each. I feel really good about my food choices today.

So I hope everyone had a nice day…especially my Dad! It looks like he enjoyed it!

7 Comments

Filed under Events, Food, Running, Training

7 responses to “Indian Ladder Farms Food Festival

  1. That peanut butter is my favorite! I’m finishing up the maple right now, but I really LOVE the blizzard butter…SO good! 🙂

  2. Sarah

    Newman’s Own makes a really good Mango Salsa that I like to put on fish. You should give it a try.

  3. Pingback: Tuesday Eats « Jen is Green

  4. I love Indian Ladder! I can’t wait to head over for pick-your-own blueberries soon. Yum!

  5. Pingback: June Recap « Jen is Green

Leave a Reply

