Portabella Burger Baby

Happy Friday! 🙂 It’s my favorite day of the week! I had one of my favorite meals for dinner tonight. A portabella burger. Yum! But more on that in a bit.

Last night I had a tempo run scheduled, so I headed to the gym for that. I ran 5 miles in about 52 minutes. And I had kind of a hard time. For the first two miles my stomach felt like a rock! I have no idea why…I ate a lot of fruit during the day, including pineapple. Maybe that’s why? I love pineapple, but sometimes it doesn’t agree with me! I did a one mile warm up, and three miles at about 9:30 pace. I slowed down a little bit because I wasn’t feeling too hot, but eventually felt better and went back down to 9:30. Then I cooled down at a slow jog for a mile with some walking breaks. It was kind of tough.

I came home to rehydrate with this! I’ve been wanting to try coconut water for a while! It was tasty. I got this flavor and the regular flavor.

I’m skipping over dinner since it was boring and I don’t want to make this post super long.

Anyway, this morning for breakfast I had a whole wheat bagel thin with almond butter, 1/2 a banana, and sweet cherry butter and some grapes on the side. Delish! I love bagel thins. Sometimes they have me yearning for the real thing. I can’t remember the last time I had a real bagel. 😦

Lunch was pretty healthy too. I had some blueberry Chobani!

Also, some veggie soup and a spinach and arugula salad with sun dried tomato hummus! I also threw in some carrots and cherry tomatoes. I got my fill of veggies! I’m just posting the salad because the soup didn’t look that great in the photo!

I may have also eaten a few mini strawberry crumble bars and a couple of brownie bites at work today too. One of my co-workers is an amazing baker and brings in delicious baked goods to share. These are my complete and utter downfall!! I’m trying really hard to resist eating these things, but most of the time my desire wins. I’ve been really struggling lately. I didn’t go overboard and eat tons of them, but I had 2 of each and they were delicious. I almost immediately regret eating them too, which is really hard for me to overcome. Can I justify these indulgences because I work out so much? I don’t know.

Anyway, I’m using today as a rest day so I didn’t go to the gym tonight. (Who wants to go to the gym on a Friday night, anyway? Not me!) I came home and made a delicious portabella burger. I LOVE portabella mushrooms! They are so tasty and make a great “burger”.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 Sandwich Thin (I use whole wheat Arnold sandwich thins)
  • Spreadable goat cheese
  • A few leaves of baby spinach (or other leafy green)
  • 1 portabella mushroom cap, stem removed
  • Any spice you wish (I use salad spice and oregano)
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil

Directions

  1. Clean off mushroom cap with a wet paper towl (I read somewhere that you should do this instead of rinsing with water)
  2. Throw in heated pan with olive oil and spices

  1. Cook for about 2 minutes on each side (they don’t take long to cook at all!)
  2. Spread goat cheese on 1 side of sandwich thin
  3. Top portabella mushroom with spinach leaves and put between sandwich thins.
  4. Enjoy!!

This is one of the easiest and healthiest recipes I know. I love it! I usually toast my sandwich thins too so its all warm and gooey. So yummy and healthy too. 🙂 I had a side of quinoa salad and dessert was some almonds and a couple of squares of dark chocolate. MMM…

In race news, tomorrow morning I may be running in the Pride 5K Run in Washington Park! I’m not registered yet but Chris and I are going to wait to see what the weather is in the morning and then decide if we should go and register! I hope they are taking day-of registrations!! It seems like it would be a really fun race! And I get to finally run a race with someone who runs almost the same pace as me. He might leave me in the dust though, so who knows! 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Food, Races, Recipes, Running, Training

Leave a Reply

